PDA

View Full Version : TV Converter Box



larryab
05-25-2009, 02:05 PM
We have a 2006 Big Horn 3200RL with a 27" Toshiba tv (NOTa flat screen) I would like to know how to hook a tv converter box for the change over to all digital reception. The DVD is in a seperate compatrment and is attached with velcro. Could/should the digital converter box be connected here?

Thanks

jimtoo
05-25-2009, 02:53 PM
Hi Larryab,

I moved the post from Ask the Factory because you will get better response here from other members.

Also, check your converter, they are including very good instructions and drawings showing how to hook up to different systems.

Jim M

Ray LeTourneau
05-25-2009, 04:20 PM
If you don't have the instructions for your converter box there are 2 different ways to do it. One is in line. Connect a coax from the antenna connection on the wall to the input on the converter box. Take a second cable from the output of the converter to the input on the TV. OR some converter boxes have phono plug outputs. You can use these as well. Tune your TV to channel 3 or 4 (normally 3) turn on the converter and you should see on screen instructions for set up or do the set up from the menu. If you use the phono plug connection you will have to set the TV input to AV1 or whatever input you are connected to. Access the menu from the remote supplied with the converter box. Your converter box becomes the tuner for your TV just as if it were a VCR in the old days.

jmgratz
05-25-2009, 04:25 PM
Hope you realize you will not need a digital converter if your TV has one built in. Also if you are using a dish or direct TV receiver you will not need a digital converter. You only need the digital converter if you are getting your signal from an antenna and your TV has an analog turner in it.