Trailer Hitch Greasing

reed

Hello everone just want to let you know we picked up our new BH 3055 RL today and tickled to death. My brain is on overload with all the information I was fed today. This is why I have a couple of questions. I have a 16K reese hitch and when stoping fairly quick it sounds like ther is a lot of slack and same when you take off fairly fast. This don't sound right to me but being a newbie I don't know. Also do you grease the hitch anywhere and where. Also where can I find a air compressor for airing tires on the road. I have one other question for this post, dose anyone know the best and quickest way to outgas the rig, can not go any where until done because of DW allergies. Thank everyone in advance.

Jburks

First and foremost congrats on the new rig, I know you be happy with your choice, I use a teflon disc on my kingpin which takes up soome slack (you can get these at most rv supply) I also use a white lithium spray grease that can be picked up at any auto parts store, I didn't have much luck with my protable air compressor that worked off the battery, it kept getting hot. Gosh I just told you everything I know in one post.....:)

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
About the only thing I can address it the greasing of the hitch. Get one of the white plastic rings and attach it to the pin box. It works.

SmokeyBare

White Lube plate... or white Fifth Wheel Ring... is the way to go... no grease smeared shoulders as you pass by the hitch... no little fingers spreading the grease all over the place... when they have discovered the stuff... And.... the Price is hard to beat !!

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member
On occasion our hitch will go clunk especially if we have stopped too quick. All that weight shifting forward will cause that. You get used to it. There is a slight bit of slack in all hitches.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member