Newbie to try Full-Timing

Hey Everyone,

My wife and I (newly weds) are thinking about fulltiming. We are only 25 years old and currently we live in PA. I've been working for a Defense contractor for 3 years now and their may be an opportunity to work in Baltimore, MD for a few years.

This post is going to be fairly lengthy so we want to apologize in advance. Any thoughts, opinions, and or suggestions are GREATLY appreaciated :)!

Ok here goes...

First, we just joined this forum yesterday, so we are slowly starting to read about fulltiming and winterizing, etc. This is definitely a learning process and we're glad there are other RV'ers willing to share their experiences and knowledge.

Currently we do not own an RV, but we do own a 2002 Silverado 3500 CrewCab Duramax Dually, which I'm sure should be able to tow a fifth wheel very well.

We are looking to get a Cyclone 3850 or similar toy hauler to carry our ATVs. We both love the interior styling and of course i love the fact that it has a small garage.

The reason we are looking to go "fulltiming" is simply because of the cost in Baltimore, MD. Average rent is 1100-1200 month. So we figure we can purchase a toyhauler for a 12 year loan, pay a monthly rate at a campground, electric, rv insurance, and still be around that rent figure. Why waste all of that rent money when you could be paying off a new 5th wheel?

We are avid campers and love the outdoors, and we've wanted a toy hauler for a few years now.

I'm just trying to determine if this is a feasible thing to do or if we should just rent in Baltimore.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Bill

Rockerga

Full-time WANNABE
CONGRATULATIONS!!!