New to Fifth Wheel and have SuperSlide Question?

icur12

New to Fifth Wheel and have SuperGlide Question?

To whomever can assist!!

I have hade a travel trailer for years and my wife and I decided to upgrade to a fifth wheel recently. We have a 2008 Toyota Tundra Crewmax with short bed so we opted for the Pull Rite SuperGlide. When I make the corners at slow speed the hitch assembly slams pretty hard when it hits the end and also when I striaghten back up. It jerks us pretty good. Is this normal? I was hoping this hitch would slide pretty smooth but it hits pretty hard.

Any thoughts on this? Again, I am new to fifth wheels so if this is normal, great!! It would make me feel a lot better. I am just hoping something is not wrong with my assembly. Other than that it tows great. As smooth as can be. It is just the turns that are slow like when you come to a stop sign and have to make a right or left turn. It jolts us then.

Thanks in advanced for any input!!

Pete

Last edited:

driver311

i have no complaints with mine. i have used it close to 500000 miles and all i have done is lube it and keep it clean. i have no jerk when turning or stating up.

driver311NoneNone

porthole

Retired
If it is a PullRite Superglide check your manual for the adjustments. That sounds like the stops are out.

I just did over 800 miles with my new hitch and trailer (about 13K) and couldn't be happier with it. No noise - banging.

porthole

Retired
RE the Superglide failure. I have been following that since it happened. He has yet to say if his father exceeded 90 degrees or not.

Now that I have experience with the hitch, that is what looks like happened in this instance. You absolutely cannot go more then 90 degrees with the Superglide or it will fail.

icur12