Front Jacks on ElkRidge 34RLSA

Paul_in_MN

Hi All!

This is my first post to this forum (but I've sure read a lot of others). I am new to 5th wheeling and the new Elk Ridge 34RLSA. So far I have just been "playing with it" (really trying to get to know it) as it is in our kind of big back yard. The yard does not have a nice level spot, so I followed the Heartland instruction book and pulled it forward on a substancial ramp to raise the right side about 6". That leveled it right to left. I blocked all 4 wheels and unhooked from the truck and was using the front landing jack to raise the trailer front. I used the pull pins on the leg extensions to get both legs in contact with 2x6's on the ground. And then activated the "ext" switch. Everything was going smoothly, no sound of the jack motor straining. I lifted the front about 7 to 8 ", stopped and checked for level and needed more lift on the front. So when I hit the "ext" button again, absolutely nothing happened, no sound, no groan. I find a 30 amp fuse in the wire harness going to the jack switch and it looks OK. The jack motor was about the same temperature as the rest of the metal, no heat noted by feel. I found the jack handle and per instructions turned counter clockwise with a bit of effort seemingly raising the front a bit more.

Now the jack motor will not run in either direction. No noise, no humm. And now the jack motor gearbox seems tight to the cross shaft.

Did I do something wrong?? The battery is up, and there is no difference with the cord plugged into the truck with engine running. I let it sit for more than an hour and came back to try it again, and again nothing happened.

I appreciate the advice of you experienced 5ers!

Paul in MN

jimtoo

Hi Paul in MN

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Family. We have a great bunch of people here and hope you enjoy the forum.