Loud straining moans and noise

mo11

Just wondering if anybody has heard all sorts of noises while making a turn with their TT. Not sure if its the WD hitch chains being too tight, ball etc.. I'm told by some this is normal, but seems to be exessive at times and kinda embarrasing... any help will be appreciated.

Thanks, Mo

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
I get the same noises. Put on one of the Teflon hitch pin discs and that helped a little, but I still hears sounds (of course, there are those who say I have all kinds of things in my head:eek:).

rick_h

I had the exact same thing 2 weeks ago. I am new to the equalizer hitch and on a previous (heavier) trip I needed them tightened. That day I make it the same tightness and the noise was as you describe. Everyone was looking at me. I loosened up the chains a link on the stabilizers and the noise was more normal. Hope that works for you too !

kakampers

Past Heartland Ambassador
Towed travel trailers for years before moving to a 5er...weight distribution hitches are supposed to be noisy...if they're not you should be worried! Relax, it's normal...:)

gmc

Reitired - California-Central Chapter Leaders
When I pulled a tt my creaking was coming from the anti-sway bar. don't grease it but you may be able to sand it down a little.

mo11

Thanks for all the quick responses. I loosened the sway bar a little and it was much better. I had a dealer tell me when I bought my 1st tt a 19 ft hideout that I should tighten the sway bar just snug with two finger pressure then one more quarter turn and it seemed to be fine. When I traded it in for the 28 RLS the dealer told me to crank it as hard as I could so I did and there were the loud noises. So I figure tightening it somewhere in between will work?

Thanks again Mo

pensadawg

Mo,