P-trap for the sewer line.

2010augusta

I was thinking today (and this is generally a very dangerous process) and thought about why or why not to have a P-trap on the sewer hose. In the last campground I had to use 20' feet of sewer hose to reach the hook-up that was about 15' away so the extra hose would "pop" out of our black expandable hose support and create a sort of P-trap on its own. Now I am using 10' of hose to go 9' so there is no real excess hose. Would it help or hurt anything to make a 3" P-trap with plastic pipe and the bayonet fittings. It could be a hassle to disconnect, but we only do that a few times a year. I think it could help to keep odors out of the gray tanks since the valves are open all the time, but not sure since we can't really vent the line after the P-trap, but how much back pressure can a RV park sewer/septic system have?

rick_debbie_gallant

Allan:

I know I am pretty new at this stuff. But when I started, I had an older gentleman take me under his wing when it was apparent that I was not doing the right things with my holding tanks. He says to me "son, what ever you do don't leave your drain valves open all the time." He says "if you do, you will have the nicest brown mountian growing in your sewer tank, kind of like Pike's peak:eek:" He also said "there are two reasons not to leave your other holding tanks open, one is critters:eek::eek: gettin in and the other is not having any cleaner water to rinse things out after the "big dump":D Really, that is what he said:eek:

KENNY COCHRAN

MCNEESE STATE COWBOYS #1
I SEE NO REASON TO MAKE A P-TRAP WITH THE SEWER HOSE. ANY ODORS FROM THE SEWER TANK YOU ARE DUMPING INTO, WILL BE CONTAINED IN YOUR RV HOLDING TANKS.