My '05 Nissan Titan Crew LE and towing....

BONEMAN

Music Man
Ok, I have read SO much about towing now I'm nervous about towing so I'm needing advice...I am new to RVing and I never have owned one. I am looking in purchasing a '09,'10 or '11 North Trail 26rks travel trailer. We live in Colorado Springs so most of our camping we'll be heading up the Rocky Mountains. This is my concern, can my truck handle the mountain driving with this trailer? Of course, dealers say "yes" but.....

Truck Specs:
GVWR 6,522 lbs
140" Wheel Base
9200 lbs towing capacity
920 lb Max tongue weight
GCWR 14,822 lbs

The 26rks trailer:
Hitch weight 620 lbs
Dry Weight 5154 lbs
GVWR 6,900 lbs

I have been told to take off an est. of 20% off my towing capacity of 9200 lbs which is 7360 lbs due to the attitude of where we live in CO and where we'll be traveling. It'll be just me and the wife traveling.

Any suggestions to this "soon to be" newbie RVer?

currituck0209

Hey Boneman,
I have a 2010 28RLS NORTHTRAIL, & HAVE A TUNDRA 5.7, WITH TRANS COOLER, BUTTON FOR GEAR CHANGE WHEN TOWING. WHICH IS ABOUT THE SAME AS THE TITAN. I HAVE NEVER HAD ANY TROUBLE, TOWS LIKE A DREAM. ALTHOUGH I DO NOT HAVE YOUR MOUNTAINS.

ralphpam

We towed a boat from Palm City Florida to LaConner Washington with our 2004 Titan and it did just fine. The boat and trailer weighed 8,500 pounds. The truck had a fiberglass bed cover and two people on board so we were towing near the limit. The truck towed it wonderfully and in the mountains of the west we ran in fourth gear except for the steep stretches were we dropped to third and kept the rpms around 3000. Doing this kept the transmission well within the proper range.
You should have no problem at all towing that trailer. We only sold the truck because we purchased a Bighorn 3670RL and got a Dodge 3500 drw to tow it.

BONEMAN

Music Man
Thanks for the comments!