TV may not tow tt

Hi Im new at towing .I have a 2009 1500 silverado crew cab. GVW rating is 6800. My north country 26SRL dry wt is 6756lbs GVWR is 10400 LBS . My question is will my tv be able to tow my TT. waiting nervously for the answer. Thank you in advance .

BIG_ZD

I have a 31QBS. I towed it a few times with 2005 Silverado 1500 5.3 V8 3.73 and it does ok but sucks the gas up. If you looking at doing any towing the mountions I would go for the diesel.

kakampers

Past Heartland Ambassador
You are potentionally overweight by 3,000lbs...you can probably tow it, but stopping will be VERY iffy...I wouldn't try it!!! Not to mention the damage you will probably do to your truck, i.e., transmission, suspension, etc.

caissiel

I was camping last summer and there was a Ford F150 that came in with a 10500 TT and he did pull it very well. There is lots of power, and he explained that the truck was rated to haul 11000 LBS. I explained that my 7500Lbs F250 was only rated to pull a 10000 Lbs TT and a 16000 Lbs 5th wheel. There is a big difference on the weight on the axles when the TT has 10% on the tongue. So with 10000 Lbs on the GM 1500 axles added to the weight of the truck that is about 4600 Lbs then the TV is 5600lbs and the TT has 9000 Lbs on the wheels. That alone makes me nervous. I had a 1/4 Ton Ranger once and was driving down the road with a heavy trailer and I puLLed to the side of the road to check the load, just then the trailer was so heavy that the curb side wheels running in soft shoulder just pushed the rear of the Ranger toward the ditch. In order not to jackknife the unit, I had to steer the truck and trailer in the ditch. Talk about getting scared.

rick_debbie_gallant

King of long, but funny

Not trying to "one best" or out do anyone, but....