Trailer Hitch Question....

WVUFan

Hi all,
I have a 2010 3670RL. I purchased a new short bed, extended cab truck. I contacted the dealer regarding the installation of a new hitch. The gentlemen stated that a sliding hitch would not be necessary due to the radius (88 deg. according to the literature) allowed by the front cap design.

I was wondering if anyone had any opinions/experience on whether a sliding hitch would still be a good idea.

Any feedback would be appreciated as I'm new to the "5th wheel-hauling scene"! :confused:

caissiel

I pulled 5th wheels with a standard box GM for over 12 years. The units had square front and regular extended pin and never had any problem with turns. I have a F250 with long box because the Ford has much less distance from the cab to the axle center then GM. But I am sure the standard box Ford would be ok with the Heartland Model. Now I regreat not having a Short bed F250 because the short box truck is much more practicle in manuvering this trailer. With the long wheel base the front of the truck has to swing much further and I find the I have to cut much sharper in order to park the unit. The short WB Chev never had any problem with parking the RV. I always had the hitch on the Axle Center line and never behind like some installers do on Dodges.

Two Hands

I have pulled my 2007 Big Horn 3055RL with my 2007 Chevy Silverado crew cab 2500HD diesel with a short bed and no sliding hitch ever since I bought it in November, 2006. With the design of the front cap I have never had any problem. When I have to make a real tight turn getting into a tight camp site the spotter and I keep a close eye out, but we have never had even a close call.

rick_debbie_gallant

Hi all,