B&W Companion-3850 Cyclone-Shortbed box

shriver63

Looking to buy a 3850 Cyclone and have a B&W hitch allready installed in my 2008 F250 CC SB truck. The truck has the Firestone Ride rites now.

My question is with the B&W Companion hitch in this truck what type of aftermarket hitch pin would work best. Trailair? 5th Airborne? Mor/ryde? I guess I'm looking for which works the best in tandem with the Companion in taking out most of the rough ride factors.

TXBobcat

Fulltime
I have a B&W hitch in my 06 F250 LB. It worked great with a regular pin box for a SOB, my Bighorn standard pin box and with my TrailAir pin box.

I am no expert but I would think all the pins are the same or close enough unless you have a very special pin box. Some sliders need a special adaptor on the pin box if I read some previous posts but I have never had the problem.

I like the B&W because of the way it captures and releases the pin. I don't think I could ever hi pin or come loose because it will not lock unless it is around the pin correctly.

The only thing to think about is having a short bed with the B&W. If you have enough room to turn I would say your good to go. HL says you have an 88* turn capability and many have pulled without a slider or not used the slide hitch and feel good just incase it becomes necessary.

I think you will be good with the standard pin or if you went with the TrailAir (which gives you a little more distance) and it is very possible that you will not have to have a slider hitch with your HL.

FWIW
BC

trvlrerik

I have a standard pin box and pin on my 08 f350 4X4 SB, with the 18k BK companion hitch. On a flat surface I can get the 88 degrees advertised by Heartland. I have a low rise toolbox (about 2 1/2" taller than the sides of the bed) so it clears with about 6" to spare. I generally look for a flat spot to stay when out in the boondocks so I have not had any problems. If you intend to run around in a lot of hilly tree areas a slider may be of some use.