PDA

View Full Version : AC in bedroom



Clymer
02-01-2010, 04:19 PM
We ordered our 2011 BC 3500 with just about every option except the 2nd air in the bedroom. Now after researching other sites and talking to other owners I am finding that this is something we really need when it gets hot out and more so in parks without trees. Any other owners have any suggestions if we should go ahead and have it installed. Thanks

osims
02-01-2010, 04:58 PM
If you have any plans of heading south in the summer i would definitly get the 2nd A/C. We have been north in the summer and used both A/Cs, especially in Wy and Colorado.
Bill

cookie
02-01-2010, 05:00 PM
Clymer, everyone has their own level of comfort. Some like the temp to be 90* and others like it around 70*. You have to determine which one you are. Like you I didn't order the second air, but had in mind that I may be getting one. On moderate days one was just fine. On the hot humid days two are better. We now have the second ac unit. Other plusses are faster cool down after traveling in hot weather or spending a night at Walmart when you can run just the bedroom air for sleeping, if you have a genny. I can't say if two are right for you, but for us it's a must have.

Peace
Dave

Clymer
02-01-2010, 06:36 PM
I'm thinking since we keep our house at 70 all year round then we will probably need the 2nd ac in the bedroom. The one thing in our marriage we agree on all the time :p We received a price of just under 1,000 today installed for a 15,000 BTU unit so I guess we will give them the go ahead.

jbeletti
02-01-2010, 06:56 PM
I'm thinking since we keep our house at 70 all year round then we will probably need the 2nd ac in the bedroom. The one thing in our marriage we agree on all the time :p We received a price of just under 1,000 today installed for a 15,000 BTU unit so I guess we will give them the go ahead.

When ordered with your coach, the second AC we typically put on is a 13,500 BTU unit. Others have added theirs later and used 13,500 BTU, 9,000 BTU and other smaller than 15,000 BTU units. What I am saying is that a 15,000 BTU unit may be more than you need and will likely cost you more as well.

That said, others have installed 15,000 BTU units in their bedrooms and are pleased with them. So it sure isn't wrong to do so :) Just wanted you to know what Heartland and some owners do.

Jim

trdeal
02-01-2010, 06:57 PM
Do it. You won't be sorry.

newbie
02-01-2010, 07:19 PM
I put a 13500 BTU (Carrier Air V low profile) in the bedroom a year after we began using our Landmark. I am very happy we did. We needed it in the summer at the beach. I would tell you though that the 15000 BTU in the bedroom will be too much and I don't think you will be happy with it, IMHO.

I bought mine online from a dealer in Virgina Beach and installed it myself (took the better part of a day). If you can get the unit installed for under $1000, that is a good deal.

Two Hands
02-01-2010, 07:31 PM
You could put one in my Big Horn and I would let you know how I liked it.

The dealer offered it at no extra charge, but I opted for a hitch instead. I so wish I would have taken the air conditioner and paid for a hitch. Then I know I would have gotten a better one.

porthole
02-01-2010, 07:39 PM
I would add it and make sure you size it properly. Too big is just as bad or worse then too small.

Nabo
02-01-2010, 10:12 PM
We had the dealer put a 2nd unit in our BC when we bought it and never regretted spending the extra money. DH likes to sleep in a very cool room (with me under a bunch of blankets - haha). The other great thing about having a 2nd unit is that its great to drown out the neighbors who like to stay outside their rig - talking all night.

Clymer
02-02-2010, 11:52 AM
Thanks for the help guys....we went with the 13,500 unit with a heat strip at the suggestion of the dealer. Said for the extra cost of 100. well worth it to help take the chill out of the air. So now we should be cool and warm in the bedroom! Don't know why I'm worried I will be sleeping in front of the wonderful fireplace...love it! :p

SilverRhino
02-02-2010, 12:38 PM
Lee;

Our BC also had the bedroom air MIA...after a couple of trips during the Texas summer we also determined that this was a purchase we were going to make.

I had pretty much made up my mind on putting in a low profile Carrier...of course Carrier decided to get out of the RV air business so now I have to make another choice. Carriers are still available...but I am concerned about any warranty or service issues.

If I might ask, which brand / model did you decide on??

I'm sure you'll love your BC as much as we do ours...Great Coaches!

Travel Safe!

porthole
02-02-2010, 01:01 PM
Thanks for the help guys....we went with the 13,500 unit with a heat strip at the suggestion of the dealer. Said for the extra cost of 100. well worth it to help take the chill out of the air. So now we should be cool and warm in the bedroom! Don't know why I'm worried I will be sleeping in front of the wonderful fireplace...love it! :p

You will not regret it, especially after the first time you need it.

sdgirl
02-02-2010, 02:54 PM
Jim, DH and I have been thinking the same thing,, about adding a Bedroom A/C. Thanks for your insight on size and cost. Appreciate knowing the options!

Clymer
02-02-2010, 09:18 PM
Lee;

Our BC also had the bedroom air MIA...after a couple of trips during the Texas summer we also determined that this was a purchase we were going to make.

I had pretty much made up my mind on putting in a low profile Carrier...of course Carrier decided to get out of the RV air business so now I have to make another choice. Carriers are still available...but I am concerned about any warranty or service issues.

If I might ask, which brand / model did you decide on??

I'm sure you'll love your BC as much as we do ours...Great Coaches!

Travel Safe!

Randy
I believe he said it is a Duo-Therm with heat strip however we also spoke about Coleman so I'm not sure which one he (the service manager) went with...they were both about the same price but I believe he said the Duo-Therm is what Heartland uses....not 100% on that. I know he called the factory to discuss. So far we have only stayed in the BC 2 nights and we really enjoyed the "at home feeling". Can't wait to head to Florida next month:o

jbeletti
02-02-2010, 10:50 PM
Duo-Therm is a Dometic brand. It is what Heartland and many other RV mfrs use.

We used Carrier for a while when Dometic supply was constrained due to the fire at their Mex plant. I always thought carrier was good stuff but feedback I've read from a few on this forum and at the Tampa show is that some are frustrated with the Carrier brand. I think much of that surrounds the remote control and how it works. Sort of like that old Dometic "I-feel" remote from 2006 time-frame.

I'm not very familiar with Coleman ACs but I did have one in a TT I owned for a year.

A heat strip option will be nice, versus not having the option. I like heat-pumps but they are more $$ and have their own drawbacks.

I'd choose the Dometic but that's just me. Some people don't care for anything Dometic.

No matter what he chose, you'll love your second AC.

Be cool!

Jim

porthole
02-03-2010, 11:17 AM
That "fire" is why I don't have a heat pump. Just the wrong time frame. But the two heat strips are OK.

Even found a digital thermostat that is reasonably priced that should work with the furnace, AC and heat strip.

RoadJunkie
02-03-2010, 11:35 AM
Don't mean to hi-jack, but can a heat strip be retrofitted to a DuoTherm 13.5BTU AC?

SilverRhino
02-03-2010, 11:55 AM
That "fire" is why I don't have a heat pump. Just the wrong time frame. But the two heat strips are OK.

Even found a digital thermostat that is reasonably priced that should work with the furnace, AC and heat strip.

Duane;

I'm going to change my thermostat out this spring...I interested to know who manufactures the thermostat and what model # is it??

Another question: Has anyone found one that has a two speed fan selector??

Randy

porthole
02-03-2010, 12:13 PM
Randy,

I think the one I got is 2 speed and I'll try and get it later out of the trailer (haven't installed it yet).

Have to deal with a little of that white crap again first :mad:

jbeletti
02-03-2010, 12:33 PM
I have a Heat Pump option in my Dometic AC and the thermostat/controller used is the Dometic Duo-Therm Confort Center. It also controls the furnace. I believe they will also control the heat strip. It will allow fan only control and at high or low speed in fan, AC or heat pump modes. You program the thermostat/controller for what is connected to it. Then those items appear in the menu. They are also 2 zone capable. I had a single controller in the last Landmark that controlled both ACs and the furnace, yet the bedroom AC had a remote thermostat sensor.

In my current Landmark, both ACs have their own Duo-Therm thermostat/controller. Not sure why as they are multi-zone capable. The thermostat/controller for the main AC is the one that also controls the furnace. Nice part about the heat pump option is that when it can no longer operate (based on heat extraction from the air), it will automatically kick over to the furnace. At least that's how the last one worked.

I'll give this one a workout beginning this weekend.

Jim

http://www.dometic.com/FileOrganizer/productimages/comfort-control/comfort_control_center.jpg
[product link (http://www.dometic.com/enus/Americas/USA/RV-Products/climate/ac-display-page/?productdataid=66938) from Dometic]

Looks like you can buy these from 3rd party suppliers:
- http://www.rvsupplydepot.com/Duo-Therm-Penguin-Comfort-Control-Center/Dometic/3109228-001/Product.htm?ProductID=265&CategoryID=317

porthole
02-03-2010, 01:14 PM
Well it looks like the price is finally coming down on these.
When i was first searching for a thermostat that would control the heat strip all I could find was refurbished ( with a core charge) for 250-300 dollars and no new ones.

This looks like a good deal now.
The key for me is "heat strip" capable, which many are not (excluding this one)

Clymer
02-03-2010, 07:44 PM
Confirmed today that the unit is a Duo-Therm with heat strip 13,500 however it only has 1 fan speed which is not a big deal. Our motorhome had the exact same system that Jim B is showing on his post and it also had the heat pump feature. The electronic therm controller worked sweet. The heat pump also worked well and would switch over automatically to furnace when the temp fell below freezing. I'm thinking the fireplace in the living area, the heat strip in the bedroom and the dual pane windows in our new BC should help the "propane" sipping furnace....I mean gulping :D Wait a minute...we are heading south forget the furnace turn on the AC!

dieselsweetheart
02-03-2010, 08:55 PM
Kathy...we have the a/c in the bedroom too and it's great for cooling down a hot interior quickly. The only thing is that I have to turn it off at night because when it comes on it wakes me up...since the ceiling is not really that high you feel like it's right on top of you when it comes on...so we leave the living room one on with the paddle fan...and we are still cool enough at night. I'm not that light of a sleeper but that unit coming on always wakes me up!

newbie
02-04-2010, 04:52 AM
That's one nice thing about the Carrier. The fan run continuous. When the compressor cycles on and off you can't hear it.