5th wheel frame

I read on the Heartland forum when searching "Alaska" there was an issue with the camper frame. It seems that many people have experienced frame and/or spring failure and there seems to be a question of safety.

I just purchased the largest Elk Ridge with 2 bedrooms and 1-1/2 baths. I plan to drive from Florida to Alaska next summer and am very concerned about the safety of this 5th wheel. Is there anything I need to do to improve the safety of the frame of my 5th wheel?

Thanks,

Lisa Harris

Paul_in_MN

Lisa,

I am not an expert on this topic, but have owned and pulled trailers for more than 30 years. I think the frame design on the ER is adequate but not "bullet proof". I bought my ER last summer and have studied its construction details with pointed attention. I have also compared its frame to other brands. There are a few frames that are bullet proof, maybe even bomb proof, but in $70K trailers that weigh a bunch more than the ER does.