Using overdrive when towing

ChefAnton

I am new to camping with a trailer. I have a Edge M18 which weighs around 4300 GVWR and I tow it with a 2006 Toyota Tundra that is rated for 7200 GVWR. My question is should I take overdrive off when towing my trailer? Or is it ok to use my overdrive. My concern is overheating my transmission.

Any thought?

DMitch

ChefAnton, I don't know much about the Toyotas but these tow haul modes can perform a bunch of different functions. Shift points can change, converter lock-up can change some even have a braking feature. They do help with transmission temperature. My feeling would be to use it while towing, the people that designed the transmission put it there for a reason. I use mine all the time. Just my 2cents, I am sure there are other opinions.

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
I tow a 10,000 lb trailer with an F250 and use Tow/Haul when the terrain dictates. However, when I'm on nice, smooth, level highways (I know - that's an oxymoron in most places) I take it out of tow/haul and let it choose the gear (normally overdrive) it needs. With Diesel at almost $3 a gallon, every extra mile per gallon helps.

Dave012

I pulled a small TT with a jeep grand cherokee for a while. I always left the overdrive on as I think the vehicle was always programmed/designed for towing within its weight limits, and it would know whether to use o/d or not. The only time I took it off was if I was about to go up a big hill, or if it the transmission was searching for the right gear. I think it would be more harmful to keep it off, and effectively rev the engine higher than it needed to be.

branson4020

Icantre Member
I don't believe the Tundra transmission has T/H mode. It'e either on or off. I'd just do what your owners manual recommends.

ChefAnton