Propane Valve Question

MystrMagic

Magician
Hello everyone. Need some help understanding the Propane valve operation. This is a picture of the valve in my new 3914. LP Gas Valve..jpg

Yes, I'm a newbie! My dealer briefly mentioned that this valve allows me to select which propane tank I draw from, or to mix the tanks and draw from both simultaneously. He suggested I use one tank at a time and when it runs out I can select the other tank to continue. (He "said" he filled both tanks, and he may have, but we drove 1000 miles home over the course of two days and must have unknowingly used about a full tank of propane between the furnace and fridge.)

So today my fridge quit and I determined (with one of those little annoying "throw hot water on it and it will change colors" propane tank guages) that one of my tanks is indeed empty. But there are no markings on this valve (above photo). Before I simply turn the black knob, I'd like to understand a little more about it. There is a small green "button" on the right side and a little red "button" on the left side. The red seems depressed and the green is not.

Do I simply turn the knob to the opposite extreme of where it is now and all is fine? Can I disconnect the empty cylinder and refill it while the system is operating on the other tank or should I turn it off, etc.?

Don't intend to sound so "stupid" but I'm accustomed to using my barbeque grill at home and when it runs dry I just disconnect the tank and refill it. Never used a switching valve like this before.

I did check the Heartland owner's manual first (before bothering you folks) and, as others have commented before, it is seriously lacking in detailed explanations like this. No mention of this valve or its use at all! Appreciate any comments and instructions you can offer.