Trailer Backing

truknutt

Committed Member
I have the fundamentals down ; it's just the "blind-side" that keeps me on edge. I learned a long time ago the value of a "Ground Guide". We have worked out our communications skills over the years; basically she talks, I listen! So far no accidents.

Bighurt

I have about 6 yrs of experience backing a 40' flat typically to aircraft but not always. I've fallen into back window backing not something you can do with a 5th or a box van.

A spotter can be a world of difference.

Do you guys use any form of communication or just loud voices. I had considered a pair of handheld's but was just curious if they make a difference.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
We use a pair of Cobra personal radios. Wife behind the rig and me at the wheel. Before I back in, though, I get out and survey the spot so I have a picture of where I want to be and any obstructions. Then I specify to her where I want the rig to end up. Works pretty good. Once in position, she takes the wheel and moves straight back/forth a little while I place the leveling boards, etc.

Manuevering the BH is easier than our HazMat tractor/trailer. A 34ft beer trailer with a Spartan tractor. The wheels on the trailer are right at the back bumper, so it can be a real PITA to get it where you want it and turning tight corners.

branson4020

Icantre Member
We use a pair of Cobra personal radios. Wife behind the rig and me at the wheel. Before I back in, though, I get out and survey the spot so I have a picture of where I want to be and any obstructions. Then I specify to her where I want the rig to end up. Works pretty good. Once in position, she takes the wheel and moves straight back/forth a little while I place the leveling boards, etc.