Ford F150 vs 28 RLS

Ptoms

My ford F150 Has a Tow Limit of 8,300 and GCWR of 14000....I really like the Layout of the 28 RLS I would Like a F250 Diesal .......However My 2005 5.4 F150 Is Paid For. If Im doing the numbers right I should be ok. What do you guys think? Im new to Travel Trailers so please be nice.

jimtoo

Hi Ptoms,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully to the family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge if needed.

I'm sure you will get some answers soon. Hopefully and almost always the folks here are nice. We are not like some of the other threads.

Enjoy the forum.

Jim M

Bighurt

My ford F150 Has a Tow Limit of 8,300 and GCWR of 14000....I really like the Layout of the 28 RLS I would Like a F250 Diesel .......However My 2005 5.4 F150 Is Paid For. If I'm doing the numbers right I should be ok. What do you guys think? I'm new to Travel Trailers so please be nice.

You are within limits for the 28 RLS given the specs above. That being said your F150 will be worked hard. Some things to look into would be a Tranny cooler and shift kit if not already equipped. Also you will need a weight distributing hitch, which I would recommend anyways. The F250 Diesel has its own issues and expenses. If its a budget killer you can hold off on the F250, and just be gentle with the 150. Ford has a new 6.7L Diesel engine that comes out in a few months for their 2011 Superduty. I would find a used...or 2010.

Rockerga

Full-time WANNABE
Bighurt is dead-on. I had a Tahoe 5.4l with "Soccer-Mom" gearing (323) with my 28RLS and it was a bear but doable. If you have the "standard" 383 gears (or better!) you will be OK but stay away from the mountains out west. Just be sure to get the weight distribution hitch then enjoy the adventure, not how fast you can get there....

Ptoms