Carpentry & Topper questions

RollingHome

01). I may need to take some of the slack out one of my slide toppers. I've never done this before. I assume there is some type of spiral torsion spring that pre-loads the canvass material. As it is now it snaps in the wind and is noisey. I assume if I put more tension on the torsion spring this will tighten up the canvass. Anyone ever do this ?

02). The bedroom door (swing type) in my 3670 must have shifted since it left the factory. The keeper or striker plate (I think that's what they are called) needs to be lowered and a new hole drilled for the latch (about 1/2" or so). If I do this one of the two mounting screws on the sriker plate will be grabbing air because of the prior hole. What should I do, fill the old hole with wood putty and start over ? This must be a common job for carpenters, what's normally done ?

03). Finally, I've got some paneling in the front closet between the washer dryer that is bulging and pulled loose midway. Looks like it may have been cut too long (I don't know what the problem is yet) and the staples or nails won't hold it in. Anyone seen this type problem ?

Finally, I just purchased a Weber Q100 Table top grill. I am carrying the little LP bottles for it in the same storage locker the 30 pounds cylinders are in. This is a well ventilated area and I don't have to be concerned with them leaking in a non-vented locker. Just sharing that little tid-bit. Tom

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
Looking at my manual for the slide toppers, there is nothing in it about making adjustments. What some of us have done to take out the slack in the main slide topper is build a PVC support that runs the length of the slide. 6" or 7" tall down the middle of the topper. Keeps the water from puddling and stops the flapping. Haven't noticed any real noise from my other three toppers. Others have stuffed soft beach balls under their toppers.