Microwave Died.. What did you replace yours with??

TXBobcat

Fulltime
Well today we joined the rest of the crowd that lost the Apollo MW.

Ours is a model AAC24BIB.. I was just curious what you replaced yours with.

I like the idea of the convection cooking. Haven't use the half time so not sure about it..

I would like to get one very similar but one that will keep on truckin...

So what you say?

BC

wdk450

Replace or Repair?
I am a retired electronics technician. My Halftime oven had problems with the interior light always staying on and the turntable motor not working. I did not want to pay the shipping to the midwest to get it fixed, I did not want to mess with new mounting systems and bezels, and my wife liked the 1/2 time cooking feature.
Walmart.com has the regular version of these ovens for about $200, but they need the RV mods to be cooled adequately in the space Heartland mounts them in. The RV version of the oven is like the regular Apollo ovens except they add an external fan and exhaust shroud on top of the oven. The RV version is ONLY availible from Midwest Sales.
I got a diagnosis and estimate for free from a local microwave oven repair company, but their estimate ($200) seemed to high for what I knew had to be done. I took it home unrepaired, removed the covers, found the turntable motor underneath and removed it. I looked on the internet and found the motor on Amazon for about $10. The light problem was due to a microswitch that wasn't snapped securely into the switch holder assembly. I made a 15 amp to 20 amp adapter power cable so that I could test it at home. It worked fine. I reassembled it and re-installed it in the trailer. It has been working fine so far this trip.
If you have no power, there is a main fuse on the top inside the cabinet. You can get these at Radio Shack.