Just ordered our BC 3250TS

archbarb

We have just finalized our order for our BC 3250TS. Supposed to be ready for pickup in Elkhart the last of June or early July. We now have a 2009 Heartland North Trail (26RKS) travel trailer which has been great. We know Heartland makes a great product, and look forward to many years of enjoyment.

We have looked at so many fifth wheels that they seemed to all run together. Alot of them had things we wanted, and also things we really did'nt want. Thats the reason we went with the build. One thing though, there was never a doubt which company we would choose.

I know I'll have plenty of questions later, but the main one now is which is the prefered hitch to use. Fifth wheel or Gooseneck hitch?

Any advise given would be great.

Thanks

caissiel

I am a mechanical Engineer and goose necks on 5th wheel campers truly scare me. They are not design like the horse trailers with a heavy duty post designed for much heavier pin weight. I already broke a pin box frame on the previous trailer and did the calculations on the design and the trailer was at the 100% allowable flexing with standard weight.

My new BC 5th wheel pin box is moving close to 1/2" already and I am pulling it with a 3/4 ton truck, it would be worst with a ton truck. The design seam to be in the ball park and with the pin lowered by an additional 12" to 16" surely would add much unwanted stresses when going uphills and surely braking.

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders
My new BC 5th wheel pin box is moving close to 1/2" already and I am pulling it with a 3/4 ton truck, it would be worst with a ton truck. The design seam to be in the ball park and with the pin lowered by an additional 12" to 16" surely would add much unwanted stresses when going uphills and surely braking.

Hey Laurent, would you explain this further for me? I don't understand but would like to!

Thanks!

caissiel