Tires; article from Highways Magazine

JoeW4300

October 2006
This article appeared in Highways Magazine, October 2006. I hope it is helpful as it relates to a problem many of us have.
JoeW

Tech Topics
Bob Livingston

1151335_Bob.jpg
Tire Expert
I’m responding as an expert to the many letters you get dealing with tires and tire-related issues. My credentials for writing this letter include that I’m an engineer with a PhD in mechanical engineering and I owned a tire store for more than 30 years. During that time, I attended many training courses taught by many of the major tire manufacturers. As evidenced by recent letters, there is a general lack of understanding of tire issues. I will address several of those issues.

Inflation: This is the source of most tire questions. You never inflate a tire except to that pressure recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. Period. There are occasionally reasons to ignore this rule. An example of this is a severely overloaded pickup truck carrying a huge load of rocks and only going a relatively short distance. Never should this apply to an RV.

The tire pressure on the sidewall of the tire is a “never-exceed pressure.” This is a pressure that has been established by testing and/or design by the tire manufacturer and it’s on the tire because of federal mandates. Most folks don’t know that every tire (sold in the USA) of the same size and ply rating has exactly the same load rating and maximum allowable tire pressure regardless of where or by whom the tire was manufactured. What the sidewall really shows is that the tire can carry a certain amount of load if inflated to the corresponding pressure. It doesn’t indicate that the tire should be inflated to that pressure. The tire manufacturer never knows beforehand on what vehicle a tire will be installed; so, how could they recommend a tire pressure? The vehicle manufacturer knows all about the vehicle and specifies the tire fitment.