Do your Pretrip checklists and during trip look overs....PLEASE

BozRazor

I was traveling to Disney World 2 weeks ago and made it to Jacksonville form Columbia SC, I was refueling and happened to look down at my rear wheel. Well there was a 6" crack from one of the spoke to the valve stem. I immediatly took it to the closest Ford dealership and they said it should be ok to drive on to Disney. I got my sharpie out and marked the both ends of the crack. After arriving at Disney I saw that the crack had spread about 1/8" longer on both ends. I ended up having to replace the wheel. This just emphasizes the importance of inspecting these vehicles, I'm a jet mechanic in the Air Force and my wife has accused me more than once of being too particular to the details, I just tell her the is no such thing as being too safe. I watched this weekend as several of my neighbors packed up and left, I only know of one person that checked their tire pressures, and that was me. That is the simple stuff, if their not checking that just think what else they might not check....just my 2 cents

RollingHome

ROB, YOU ARE NOT BEING TOO PARTICULAR ! You are being smart ! Keep doing what you're doing flyboy... Your training is paying off. Dot the eyes & cross the tees... you and your family will live longer - JMO :)

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
Always a good idea to do a full walk-around at every rest stop. Place hands on tires & hubs to check for overheating. Look under the rig and eyeball the hitch, too.

Are you based at Shaw?

ncrebel8

Wesley and Niki Norwood
I agree 100% with the pretrip inspections. I just cant believe a FORD dealership let you drive away with a cracked Wheel. Thats a major safety issue whether they THINK it will be ok or not.

POCOHORSE

Troy & Tracy Chaddon