Generator fuel burn

DC10-FE

Here's a general question for anyone who calculates this. Being an engineer by trade, just wondering if anybody has a rough guess as to the fuel burn rate of the generator. I realize there are many factors involved such as AC on or off, how much electrical is running in the coach, etc, etc. I'm just wondering what the average fuel burn is per hour of operation. Thanks in advance for any ball park figures.

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member
It also will depend on the brand and size of the generator as well as the load. I have a 7.5 kw Generac portable I use at home for emergencies and go through 5 gallons about every 9=10 hours with the RV AC running and 2 refrigerators running. That was during and after Hurricanes Rita and Ike.

beasleyrl

If you are using the standard Onan that is packaged with the Cyclone, I typically estimate slightly more than 1/2 gallon per hour. Running both AC's, it is a little more - maybe 3/4 gallon.

Northern Virginia
Definitely depends on the size of the generator (watts) and the wattage being used. We have a 6500 watt gasoline Onan that like beasleyrl said, burns between 1/2 - 3/4 gallons per hour depending on the load (3/4 gal/hour with both a/c's and electric water on)

John

DC10-FE

Thanks guys. I guess I should have included what I was running, my bad. I have the 5.5 Onan with one AC unit on the Cyclone 3010. I also have an Honda EU 2000 (had 2 running in parallel until I toasted the inverter on one of them). That little puppy would run 8 hours on a one gallon tank on my old trailer without the AC, plus it was quiet as all get out. It was so quiet that I could actually hear the wife talking with it running. hmmm, I'm already seeing some benefits to this gen. now. ;-)

Detmer

I have a Cyclone 3210 with one A/C unit and the Onan 5500. I burn probably a little less than 1/2 gal per hour.

cms