Axle weight rating reduce

Dennist

atving and camping...
Anybody else got the new label in accordance to the National Traffic and Motor Safety Act for their Cyclone? It reduces the weight rating on each axle by 80lbs thus reducing the weight in your garage by 360lbs.... the weight of a 250cc ATV.... We are at 15,500 lbs loaded no liquid on our axles. Yup I know its heavy but I drive truck for a living and its just another day in paradise! This does not seem right.

Chainsaw

Saskatchewan Chapter Leader
I understood that the capcity of the storage area is 2500lbs. I remember this from when we were looking at a new unit. I would presume that if the manufacture has spec'ed at a certain weight then they would have to get that spec approved by DOT. On our last trailer (SOB) we had tire problems and I blamed the manufacture. They said that DOT approved the axels for the trailer so they were in spec. I raised a big stink and put on better tires. The following year the same manufacture advertized (for the same trailer"New for 2008 8000lb axels. It was 2007 that I took them to task. By the way, that manufaurer is not there anymore.

go for the sticker that gives you the capcity, I would think.

westxsrt10

Perfict Senior Member
Anybody else got the new label in accordance to the National Traffic and Motor Safety Act for their Cyclone? It reduces the weight rating on each axle by 80lbs thus reducing the weight in your garage by 360lbs.... the weight of a 250cc ATV.... We are at 15,500 lbs loaded no liquid on our axles. Yup I know its heavy but I drive truck for a living and its just another day in paradise! This does not seem right.
Dennist....isnt the axle rating only reduced because of the tire rating? Check your 15" factory wheel PSI max.(stamped on the inside of the wheel) to see if a 80# 2830lbs E rated Maxxis tire will work.
http://www.gripston.com/search?q=225/75/15#TL15710000

Dennist

atving and camping...