Circuit Tester / Problem?

Invizatu

Senior Road Warriors
So far we have taken our trailer (2011 / 21fbs) camping 3 times to campgrounds with full hook ups. I have tested the source with a plug in tester (ideal #61-500) and have had no problems. Today I decided to test the generators and their ability to run a 15k A/C in the heat of a nice hot Texas day. I hooked up my 2 Honda 2000 generators in parallel, fired them up and turned on the A/C, everything worked fine and the trailer got nice and cool as anticipated...
Now, out of the blue ( I don't know why I even contemplated it but) I plug the tester into the 110 outlets in the trailer (which I have never done before) and I get a reading that the hot and the neutral are reversed.
Would this indicate that the trailer is not wired properly?

Rickhansen

Yes. potentially (no pun). The problem could be with your generator, wiring of your transfer switch, or only that one outlet. It is certainly alerting you of a problem. It bears some more troubleshooting and investigation.

Northern Virginia
You need to troubleshoot this in a logical path that starts a the top.

• Find a known good source of shore power
  • When plugged into shore power, do you have this problem?
  • Check the generator output.(each one)
  • Check generator output when paralleled
  • Check the panel wiring
  • Check other receptacles in the coach
Like Rick said, it could only be the one receptacle you checked with your tester. Here are a couple of pics to make sure you are testing them right.

Good luck, John

20amp_receptacle.jpgduplex_receptacle.jpg

Jimmyt5

A simple three light receptacle tester will always show a ground problem when plugged into a Honda generator, i.e. mine indicates an open ground.