Recipe Help!

RollingHome

Poor Patti, I'm cooking diner to surprise her ! That stuff I made in the crock pot was so bland and she was so kind... YUCK ! Anyway, As you may know, I'm off work now as in retired and my want to do is "learn to cook" in my opinion, this is my first big YUCK ! I made Butternut Squash & Cauliflower Curry. It sounded good, I did what they said (woman's Day Cookbook - no smart butt responses please) it was bland, as in NO taste !

I am asking for suggestions to jazz up a meal in the crock pot that is cooked and kinda has no taste ? At this point, I can't wreck it further ! In reality, I'm thinking of next time. I know as a new cook I'm gonna mess up, but there must be "tricks" as in save a meal you guys know. So, help a kitchen neophyte out and boost my ego ! Any suggestions or secrets, or is that just the way it is ?

Looking at the bright side, at least no one was injured eating my cooking ! They really ought to make guys go through 'Home Ec.' in school.

Tom

Rrloren

Re: Help !

You used a couple tough ingredients to make taste good in a Crock Pot. As a suggestion on the Butternut we split them brush with butter ,salt and pepper then roast in the oven till tender and lightly brown, they are quite tasty. The Califlower you might try steaming or boiling till tender then salt and pepper and drizzle with some Balsamic vinegar.
Califlower is also very good if you break apart the flowets and coat with seasoned flour and fry in a bit of oil till nicely browned then salt.
Good luck. You'll get better as you continue to practice and experiment.

RollingHome

Thanks for your input, one would think the THAI Red Curry Paste and Coconut Milk that I put in is so strong that my meal would not have been bland... Oh well, BBQ sauce and garlic oughta do it :) ...

GETnBYE

A few questions first: Do you have any special food do's or don't's? ie. low salt or fat free? do you only want to do crock pot cooking?