Interesting refrigerator problem high altitude

lhetsler

We just spend about 2 1/2 weeks in the Rocky Mtns at 7 to 9 thousand feet. Our refrigerator worked fine. When we came down from the mountains, the refer would not cool below 60 degrees sometimes 54 at night. It did this for two days, prompting me to make an appointment to have it looked at. Then on the second day we were off the mountain traveling back it began working normally again. Has anyone seen this happen before and is there an explanation.

rockhound

I have not had this happen but I am a refrigeration mechanic, everything works on a pressure/temperature relation, and going to and from higher elevations would cause the pressure changes, causing the temp. changes, even when we install brand new equipment there are different settings depending on which elevation you are installing at. Hope this helped a bit.

wdk450

Les:
The cooling system of an RV evaporative refrigeration unit is a SEALED SYSTEM, just as is the compressor driven air conditioning system in your tow vehicle. Your vehicle AC is not affected by altitude, just as the sealed part of your RV refrigerator should not be affected by altitude.
The external energy that drives the RV evaporative refrigerator is a heat source - either propane flame or electric resistance heating. The propane flame air/fuel mixture is affected by altitude changes resulting in less heat to run the refrig. I would expect this to be less at high altitude versus a flame that was adjusted at low altitude. I would expect the RV refrig to work exactly the same at high and low altitude on electric heating power.

Here is a link to how RV evaporative refrigerators work:
http://www.rvmobile.com/tech/Trouble/cooldoc.htm

Rickhansen

Bill,