Microwave tripping breaker after a minute or so of use .....

Midastouch

Hey everyone! Haven't posted in along time ... I guess that means things have been great with my replacement GC after the "flood", for those that know what I'm referring to!

Anyway, got a problem! This just started and I'm not an electrician, of course, so .... when I use my micro longer than a minute, it trips the breaker. When I go to the breaker, it's warm. Is the breaker bad and needs to be replaced?

I do know those things come out of a regulare house electrical box .... I'm hoping the breaker is bad and I can get a replacement. I don't know why the micro would all of a sudden be tripping the breaker for no reason but I sure don't want to burn down my house!

Thanks for the advice/info in advance!
I'm hoping I can figure out this new style forum since it's been so long since I've been here!

jbeletti

Hi Lynne,

Great hearing from you. Sounds like an over-current situation. I suspect a loose screw on the hot, neutral or ground in that circuit. Either at the receptacle end or in the breaker box. If you are not comfortable in doing so, please have someone who is comfortable in doing this and that you trust to:

1. Mark with tape, a colored dot, nail polish etc, the handle of the breaker that is popping that feeds the microwave
  2. Unplug the coach from park power, then remove the plastic frame of the AC breaker panel (4 screws I think)
  3. Using a screwdriver, make sure all set screws that have wires under them on the ground (bare wire) and neutral (white wire) for all circuits are snug.
  4. Same for the hot line connected to each breaker. Make sure they are snug.
In all that above, pay particular attention to the 3 wires that are part of the microwave circuit so you know if you had any loose wires, whether one or more of them were on that circuit.