Help Newbee 5ver potential owner of Sundance 2800RL or 2900MK: 2010 GMC Sierra Crew Cab 2500HD DA

JASMAR

Have Camera Will Travel
We have had a pull trailer for years and pretty much understanding the limitation of our truck with a Pull Trailer. But I am new to a 5ver and have my concerns. Any assitance you can provide would be greatly appreciated. We in the process of working on buying a 2900MK or 2800RL Sundance.

I would like some input from current owners of a 2900MK or the 2800RL who tow with a 2010 GMC Sierra Crew Cab 2500HD D/A. I would like to know if my truck weight capacity is adequate for the two trailers. Specifically:

1. Will the truck handle the pin weight of 1900K? What are the weight limits of my tow vehicle relative to a 5ver?
2. Did you need to add Air Bags and if so what brand?
3. What brand hitch did you install, I have looked at Reese Signiture Series w/ rails under bed? What would you recommend and why? Should I get a slider hitch?
4. Any answers to questions I have not asked that you feel are relavant?

Thanks ahead of time for your input

JASMAR (Tom)

jimtoo

Hi Tom,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge if needed.

I'm sure you will get opinions both for and against your truck, it's just the nature of people. I think you will be fine with what you have and I would wait and see how the truck handles the trailer before putting air bags on..
The hitch is just a matter of choice. Do you want anything in the bed when not using the hitch?

Enjoy the forum.

Jim M

MC9

I pulled ours with our previous F-250 5.4 short bed. You have plenty of truck. I now have the V-10, not because I couldn't pull with the old truck.You didn't say which bed you have. Chevy beds tend to run a little short. Most with the 6.5 bed don't seem to need the sliding hitch. I do heartely recommend the Mor-Ryde pin box, takes most of the jerkiness out.

Rrloren