Diesel Additive??

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
To use or not to use? That is the question. I'm new to the ranks of diesel owners just buying my first last week. Duramax LB7 by the way. The truck seems to run fine and I understand the Ultra low sulphur shouldn't be a problem. Does anyone suggest using an additive just as a precautionary measure or just too keep injectors clean? I saw an ad for Stanadyne and it sounds like pretty good stuff. I've browsed the diesel sites and there are too many opinions mostly from folks that have modified thier engines in some way. Mine is stock. Thanks in advance for any advice.:confused:

nhunter

I have worked with heavy duty diesels (Detroit Diesel series 50, 60 and the screaming jimmys, Internationals) and never put in any additive. We just make sure that we are getting winter fuel (usually a darker green) and have never had any gelling problems and bad injectors. Our mechanic always said additives are useless. Just my opinion. Even my wifes Jetta TDI has never had any additives.

Tom of Ypsi

I have used Stanadyne but mostly when I go way north, UP or NL Mich, just to keep the fuel from gelling. As far as performance, I have not noticed any.

bowtorc

I worked in the engine division of Caterpillar for 35 years and we were always told not use anything in the fuel. Most do no good and some can reduce the lubricity which could harm your fuel system. I have owned a diesel pickup in Illinois for years and never had a problem with gelling since the fuel in cold areas should already be treated.

Roger

svd

I too have only used it when I knew I would be in weather that was 0f or less, to help prevent gelling. I would also add I have never had a gelling problem, just worried about it.

dieselengineer

Charter Member