LSD in a 2007 ULSD Engine

randes

I'm a newbie in the diesel world. I plan to order a Bighorn 3055RL next month and a 2007 F-350 PSD truck to pull it with. I want to go the Alaska this Summer and I'm concerned with the 2007 ULSD requirements. What happens if I am on the road in Canada or some small town and need fuel and there is no ULSD around. What can be done in this situation? Are there additives that can be used or will an occasional tank from time to time not cause any damage to the engine?

This seems like an obvious question, but I haven't seen it addressed as yet. Hope some of you know the answer. I don't know whether to buy a 2006 or a 2007 F-350. :confused:

Roy

Tom of Ypsi

Randes,

The 2007 F-350, 6.0 diesel, can run on either fuel, it is the 2008, 6.4 that needs the ULSD fuel. I do not believe there should be a problem in Canada, they use the same trucks we do in the US.

trdeal

Past North Carolina Chapter Leader
Roy, Last Friday I purchased a 2007 PSD and had the same question for my dealer. The local diesel pumps state that it is illeagel to use their diesel in 2007 and up. I told my dealer this and they told me that ,at least here in N.C. the pumps are labeled wrong. When I left the dealership with my truck they gave me a voucher to fill up with fuel,which I did with no problems. If you subscribe to Trailer Life Magazine,there is an article this month on the new diesel and the increases in power and tourque the 2008 PSD will have.They will be about $5000.00 higher. Because Ford is trying to get the 2008 launched,they have a limited 2007 production year.I was told that you could probably still buy a 2007 through March. Right now there is a 1500.00 customer loyalty rebate, and a 3000.00 rebate on the 2007.

DennisZ