Kingpin Stabilizers are they necessary? Opinions Please.

YaShouldaGotaDiesel

If this has been posted before please forgive me. I did a search and it didn't come up.

I have seen the pin tripod under many 5th wheels in CG's. Are they more for support of the weight that's on that part of the trailer or more for stabilizing it for less shaking?
I'm new to 5th wheel Rv's and trying learn more about them. Thanks

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I have a kingpin tripod. But I don't use it on short trips. Well actually I don't use it at all any more since I got the Level Up. There are different schools of thought on them. I think that they work to stabilize the rig. Some think that they are ineffective with a Trail Air pin box. I had the Trail Air and it does work. That air bag supports 3,000 pounds of pin weight and I am pretty sure that my 175 is not going to have an effect on that bag.
I do think that there are better ways of stabilizing your rig. One would be to install a landing gear type stabilizer. Such as the JT Strongarms. With the tripod it's one more thing to drag around. The JT's stay attached and you don't have to remove or store them.
IMHO

Peace
Dave

lwmcguir

I like the landing gear stabilizers better. Work very well and are self storing, You just have to remember to unlock them before moving the landing gear.

TandT

Founding Utah Chapter Leaders-Retired
The tripod stabilizers also help secure your rig against theft. At least mine takes a padlock that would at least require cutting it, as opposed to just backing under it and driving off. I agree with Dave though, I don't use it for one night stands.

Willym

I use a bipod, and it really cuts down on trailer movement when the Splendide is on its spin cycle. Before, people used to ask us why the trailer was shaking, but didn't believe us when we said laundry.

MurrayN.