Water Sanitation

Gary521

Got a question. I have observed some brutally disgusting practices regarding the park water hookup. I have seen guys sticking their sewer hose around the tap to to flush the hose. I used to work in the medical industry and know that this is contaminating the spigot. I have also observed the power flush hose for the black tank being connected with the same hose for the fresh water line - another cross contamination no no.
I was in Carlsbad last year, and this is the first and only park where I observed the site locating guy come over and sanitize the water spigot before I hooked my hose on it. I bowed graciously.
As far as the sewer and water go, I always wear disposable gloves when hooking and unhooking / flushing the sewer line. I have started to carry spigot sanitizing solution made from a diluted bleach solution.

My question is: What do other folks do and what is their formula for a sanitizing solution - if they have one. I don't know if I have ever seen anything like this. Can you buy this stuff? The homemade stuff is cheaper and maybe better but just wondering. In the medical industry, we were required to undergo training every year regarding
waterborne, bloodborne and airborne pathogens ( germs ). Seeing what goes on around the sewer/water sometimes gives me the creeps. What are these folks thinking??!!

kb0zke

Thanks for the information. We're eagerly looking forward to some warmer weather so that we can enjoy our first TT. We do intend to use campground water supplies, and hadn't even thought about this issue. As a teacher, I'm required to have some of the same training each year before school starts. The disposable gloves sound like a good idea.

TedS

I use Clorox cleaner with bleach. I keep the spray bottle near the water connect panel so it is handy when I hook up. Spray the park spigot first thing, then when I go to hool up the water it has set for a minute or two. I spray my fresh water hose ends too.

HappyKayakers