need a fifth wheel hitch recommendation

Louba

I'll be taking delivery of my new Bighorn 3385 in about 5 weeks and need some recommendations about a hitch. I've towed a conventional trailer for many years but have never had any experience with fifth wheels. My dealer gave me what seemed like a high price for a Husky hitch + wiring ($1225) but I just called them and the service dept said I could buy a hitch elsewhere and they would install it for $295.
I've heard a lot of good reviews of the Curt Q5 20k hitch so I was leaning that way.
Since I understand that I won't need a slider with the Bighorn front cap design I was wondering if it's possible to buy a fixed hitch and then down the road if I feel it's necessary add a slider mechanism to it? Maybe a dumb question but as I said I'm a fifth wheel rookie.

watchthebox

The Curt Q5 is the only 5th wheel hitch I've ever used. That being said, I like it alot and would choose it again.

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders
I don't think I have ever read anything bad about any hitch. They all seem to do a good job. We use a Hijacker which I chose because of price and ease of use. I prefer the bar type mechanism to the jaw ones...strictly a personsal thing.

Jellystone

Reese makes great 5th wheel hitches also with a good selection of weight sizes and options. They have been in business for a long time because of their quality and reputation.

Whatever brand of hitch you choose, always go at least 2,000 lbs bigger than the gross vehicle weight of your new camper. It will give you more than you need and allow you room to "grow" if you ever plan on going with a heavier camper.

ncrebel8

Wesley and Niki Norwood
You cant go wrong with the Curt hitch. Only other hitch worth considering is the B&W. Either of those you will be happy.

archbarb