Is a 4 wheel drive needed?

I have just purchased a Cyclone 3950. I have a 2003 F350 dually 7.3. It is 2 wheel drive. My question is should I start looking for a four wheel drive? I'm new to the rv scene so any practical imputs would be helpfull before I learn by experience.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Re: is a 4 wheel needed?

Hi Bruce.Reed, and welcome to the forum. I have a 4x4 but only because I live in a northern state that gets a bunch of snow. If I lives south I probably would not have one.
I do know of a couple of people that used their 4X4 while using their rigs. That was in the case of rain and slick surfaces.
I think you will be just fine with a 2x4.

Peace
Dave

trvlrerik

I have never had any problems with mud or snow, I have needed four wheel drive backing into a steep spot uphill on wet grass. I probably could have gotten into place if I waited for the dew to dry. IMO four wheel drive is a luxury that is not really needed in most cases. Save the cash for more trips and fuel costs untill it is time for a new tow vehicle.

BruteForce

That's a big rig. Ever plan on dry camping or taking it off pavement? If so, 4x4 will surely come in handy. 4x4 saved me from being stuck ~30 miles in the far west Utah desert in thick mud (staged at night when everything was frozen and discovered overnight that my rig had settled 2" in mud after the sun came out).

GOTTOYS

Living in Minnesota it's almost impossible to find anything but a real basic work truck that doesn't have 4 wheel drive. The resale value on a 2 wheel drive is really in the tank if you can even find a buyer...I don't think you really need except for a few times a year and even then you could get by without it. If I lived in the South I wouldn't buy it...Don

TedS

It's like other things, when you need it it is good to have. I've used 4x4 on slick boat ramps and wet and slippery camp sites.

hoefler