Toyhauler loading large motorcycle

cb1313

I just purchased a Road Warrior 385 , I have a Yamaha Venture motorcycle that I was unable to get into my older top hauler.
I want to know how you folks are getting large motorcycle into your units ? I have been riding for 40 years but I am not sure if I can drive into the garage and stop before I hit the sliding glass doors ....????
Thank you for ANY information.

Cb

ultrafarmer

I built a front wheel holder and screwed it to the floor. I don't have much trouble getting it in there. Once the back wheel slid some so built a little one for it too. I have a Cyclone trailer..

robnmo

We had the same worry at first with the Cyclone, our 1st ride in I had it unhooked from the truck, raised the front landing jacks all the way up, that decreases the ramp grade at the back, just take your time, it's alot easier than you think.

porthole

Retired
Practice with a dry ramp
Realize that when you get the front wheel on the ramp and the rear tire still on the ground, you most likely will not be able to touch the ground. That is a little un-nerving first couple of times.

**Just don't stop at that threshold

I would suggest you have a chock to drive into. The horsepower - throttle you will be using getting in means you will be driving in hot and stopping quick.
Unless you can load it on an incline (ramp on on the uphill side of an incline)

**Don't touch the front brake backing out of the trailer

For backing out put the bike in first gear, then use only the clutch to stop forward or rearward rolling (bike not running)

Last edited:

Niles