Storing The Horn

Well I'm new to the fifth wheel thing and I have questions
1. Do you put down the back jacks when storing your trailer?
2. Do you unhook the battery?
3.Day shades,night shades,or no shades?

Thanks Freddie

Ron Schoner

Tin Star
Freddie, I alway park/store my 5er with the shades pulled down. That keeps it cooler inside, and the fabrics do not sun fade. Also it keeps " eyes " from see what is inside. I have a master battery switch and I turn it off. I also have solar panels to keep the batteries charged. And I do not put down the back jacks. No strain on the frame.

Hope this helps.

Ron

tdharley

LOL Thats kinda funny , I do just about the total opposite.

I store mine with the shade up, to keep the pleats intact. I think I read that some were Although if I had a security issue I would probably keep them down also.

I keep my back electric jacks down since I like to got out and do little things to it during the off season. It is stored in a large enclosure on my property so it is more convienent that way.

And the battery thing. I disconnect and reconnect once a month to recharge. I have read that the converter/charger can boil out the battery. I also check the water before charging. I am in the process of installing a Xantrex inverter with a built in 3 stage charger that conditions the batteries. They say I could leave that connect continusly since it is a smart charger. I will still check the water level in the batteries.

phranc

Back jacks up
Window shades down
Battery disconected, by master battery switch
Visit once a month..

jpmorgan37