On the Road: What's your preference?

RuralPastor

When you're traveling from home to a destination, enroute, do you...

a) Pull into a parking lot for the night?

b) Use rest areas?

c) Campgrounds?

I'm new at this, and I can see some advantages with each. Longtimers...let me know!

GOTTOYS

Campgrounds...they have them for a reason. Don't need some idiot banging on my door in the middle of the night to rob me, ask for money for gas, tell me I can't park there....Don

Invizatu

Senior Road Warriors
All of the above. Depends on where you are, as some states are very user friendly with the rest areas and some are not. In Texas, the welcome centers have security guards, free wifi and nice restrooms and welcome you to stay overnite. Many of the regular rest areas in Texas are quite nice with free wifi etc., found the same in New Mexico, but not in Colorado. Flying J and Walmarts are also good for an overnite stay on your way to wherever. Both rest areas and parking lots tend to be a bit noisey, but not all that bad. Campgrounds can be anything from the US forest service to BLM to state and national parks or private RV parks. The amount of services and amenities will usually dictate the cost. Enjoy your trips!

RuralPastor

Thanks...well I never knew people went door knocking in the parking lots, but I guess I shouldn't be surprised. As a former deputy sheriff with an itchy trigger finger and Glock .40, it might not be wise for someone with ill intentions to knock on my door...but then again, as a pastor, I guess I could do the funeral too. OK, so don't take that seriously...wink wink. I think we'll hit the campgrounds. Followup question: Are those camping clubs worth the money? Are the discounts viable?

Last edited:

cookie

Administrator
Staff member