DL requirements for towing 5er

timbuktu

I am a resident of TX stationed in CA. After consulting TX DPS, I found out I am illegal towing my 5er. According to TX, with a combined GVWR of truck and trailer over 26,000lbs, I am required to have a Class B CDL. If I were under 26,000lbs, a Class B non-CDL would suffice. But I can't get the license unless I physically go to TX to do the test. Since I am in CA, I contacted the local DMV and according to them, I need a Class A non-CDL for my set up. I hear the CHP doesn't really enforce this license requirement, but I think I'm just going to get a CA Class B CDL and when I roll through TX next year I can simply transfer it over.

While the license requirement may not be enforced, I think it's a good idea just to cover my six just in case I get in an accident. I don't want my insurance to come back to me and say I'm not covered bc I didn't have the proper license.

Anyone looked into upgrading their license also? I find it interesting that I came across this info accidentally and it seems it's not really talked about or recommended by dealers. Heck, I was even pulled over a few months ago by CA CHP and he didn't mention the extra license requirement at all! All in all, just interesting...

timbuktu

I probably posted this in the wrong section. Mods - please move to correct location if you need to. Thanks!

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member