Cyclone Black Water Tank vent cover.......a "Newbie" lesson

lduguay

Past North Carolina Chapter Leader
Sooooooo, I get the Cyclone Black Water Tank vent "cap" that swivels, promotes good airflow and looks very cool, (I am a newbie). I climb onto the roof of our 2011 BC 3250TS.....and BEHOLD, there are 4 vent pipes!!!

Thus my dilema began......how to figure out which pipe!! Call Heartland for schmatics??......post on the forum??......or just PM Jim Beletti!!?? OF COURSE, I seek the sage wisdome of JB :rolleyes: and yes, his quick response is the best phone number to call...another suggestion was to put a hose down the pipes and see which tank was draining....2 very good responses!! Thanks Jim!!

However, I got to thinking.....a dangerous think to do......and thought.....if the water deal works, then maybe there is a better way and far less complicated...............and here it is.......a quick, easy and accurate method for determining the correct pipe to cap!

All you have to do is:

1. Climb onto your camper roof
2. Instruct DW to stick her head into the toilet.....(after flushing)
3. Have here scream "CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW!!??"
4. You listen to each pipe while holding nose.

You WILL get the correct pipe if DW is loud enough!! :cool:

I hope this helps someone out there avoid the "sniffing" method!!.....and also have just a little fun with the DW while you "splain" what she has to do :angel:

Lance

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
Brave, but short-lived, man who tells his wife to stick her head in the toilet.

Another idea would be to first look at the tank vent pipes in the basement. They normally run straight up from the tank, and the black tank is usually under the toilet.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
Brave, but short-lived, man who tells his wife to stick her head in the toilet.