Front A/C frosts up...

TXBobcat

Fulltime
Lately our front Penguin 13.5k A/C is frosting up when we turn the thermostat down low.

We are in Kerrville TX. The temp here has been in the mid 90's and is fairly warm at night. For a couple of nights if we drop the thermostat (dial type on the A/C control panel) low after a while the A/C would start to labor and I checked the condenser fins and they were blocked by frost.

Anyone have an idea why we can't turn the thermostat down low without getting it all frosted up. Makes the bedroom a bit warm at night.

BC

jbeletti

Bob, were you running the AC fan on Hi or Low? Most say that when run on low, under certain conditions, the AC wil freeze up as not enough air is moved across the coils to keep it from frosting. I'm no expert in this area by any stretch - just something I've read on the forum a couple of times.

Jim

TXBobcat

Fulltime
I always keep the fan on our A/C's on high. I also have cleaned the filters. Heard that if the filter is not clean it will restrict the flow of air and cause it to freeze up.

David at ElploreUSA in Seguin taped up around the inside so it would not freeze. He said if the unit was pulling in air that was already cold it would cause a freeze up.

I have one duct from the front A/C that is positioned under the edge of the bedroom A/C. David taped up the vent so it would not effect the bedroom A/C, but it still freezes up. Not all the time, just when I turn the thermostat down almost all the way. If I raise the thermostat up to a higher temp it will not freeze.

Thanks
BC

mmomega

AnyTimer