6 PT or 12 PT Socket Set

2psnapod2

Texas-South Chapter Leaders-Retired
As I am not a mechanic and have not really done a lot of wrench turning. But I am looking at buying a new 1/2 drive socket set to go with the torque wrench that I also bought. I have been told that since I would not be using the sockets with the torque wrench that I should just buy a socket set and not a impact set. What is the reason that I would buy a 6 pt or a 12 pt set? Looking to buy and I see a nice 12 pt out there but is it better or worse than a 6 pt?

Bighurt

I have full sets of each in pretty much SA and Metric for both 1/2" and 3/8" drive sets. I don't have deep well 6 point metric atm...it's on fathers day list. Pretty sure my 3/4" set is all 12 point and is SA I don't have anything metric over 30 mm.

Anyways 6 point is the ideal tool as mentioned previously so you don't round nut shoulders. However you need a fair amount of room to use them, particularly with a breaker bar or non ratcheting implement. When you get down into the engine compartment a 6 point socket isn't your friend. This is why box end wrenches are 12 point. If you have good fasteners, and use the correct size a 12 point set is perfect for the rig and it's what I carry. The issue is high torqued fasteners, old corroded fasteners and the unknown metric fasteners on American made equipment...

Those three cases are the primary cause of rounding a bolt or nuts shoulders. If I'm breaking torque on something near capacity of the bolt (research bolt torque charts) I start with a 6 point if possible, same with torquing a fastener.

Cheers

jnbhobe

I have both 6 & 12 point in 1/4, 3/8, 1/2, and 3/4 I try to use a 6 point to get it loosened then I will use a 12 point. Also you can interchange some metric and SAE but its best to have both metric and SAE.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
A good set of vice grips and a hammer and you should be good to go:eek:...