Hitching & Unhitching

Rodbuster

Hello,

I'm looking for advice, tips and/or tricks to hitch and unhitch my 5th wheel. I'm very new to all this, just picked up my Key Largo last weekend. I received my "new guy" lessons at the dealership and I thought that everything would be pretty easy.
When I got home, it took me 45 minutes to unhitch. I was tired so I left it alone for the rest of the day.
The next day I tried to hitch up, just to get some experience under my belt. Again, it took me over 50 minutes to get the kingpin lined up good enough to close and lock it in.
Same thing again trying to unhitch it. At least 45 minutes trying to get the pressure off the kingpin so I could pull the handle.

My driveway has a "very slight" incline and also a "very slight" right to left pitch (the right would be the passenger and higher side). When I say very slight I mean the incline would be about 2 to 3 inches in 60 feet.

I don't feel good about asking you about this because I feel it's something pretty simple that I'm just not doing right, but I'd rather learn now before I get to a campground.

It's a 40 foot Key Largo being pulled by a F350 dually.
The hitch is a Reese Elite 25,000K

Thanks for any help
Rodbuster

Bighurt

Are you dropping the trailer with blocks under the wheels?

I agree it takes practice and the blocks should have little effect but there is very limited side to side roll on the hitch more pitch front to rear.

When I got mine I tried to be careful and less abusive than I am with a tractor trailer. Turned out that was the problem. I was trying to get it vertically perfect and that just isn't possible. With suspension you it's hard to tell when the weight is on or you begin to lift the TV up. This is made worse with a lube plate as it seams to take that little gap away leaving you with no visual que.