Question for 3210 owners ...

Lizn8r

What do you tow your rigs with? And are you comfortable pulling them?

I have totally fallen in love with the 3210 and am almost positive I will own one by the middle of this summer. My only fear (more than likely due to the fact that I am a total 5th wheel noob) is that my tow vehicle will be stretched to the max by the rig. Without getting into all the weight numbers and calculations, I've got about 3000lbs left for stuff in the TH before I max out the GCVWR (truck and rig)of my TV. 2 bikes that have to come with us, that leaves 1700lbs. I won't fill up on liquids until I get close to my destination, so I save some weight there. Now, being that I am a newbie, is it possible to put more than 1700 lbs of "normal" camping gear into a rig? Pots, pans kitchen stuff, linens, etc ... surely to God this can't add up to 1700lbs, can it?

You can see that I am trying to convince myself that I have enough truck for the 3210 ... I just bought the '08 F350 three weeks ago, after trading in an '07 F150 I had purchased just 2 weeks prior to that. My Ford salesman can put his kid in state college with the commission he made off me in a month ... If I go back now for the F450, it'll be Harvard or Yale for him!!

So, please calm my fears and let me know that I'll be fine with the 3210. Or tell me that I'm out of my gourd for thinking I will be safe. Either way, towing info coming from current owners is much more believable than anything coming from a dealer!

Thanks,
Liz

jimtoo

Without going into all the figures, a 3210 dry is listed at about 11,000#.
I can see no reason that you would need anything more than what you have to drag that thing around.

My BH3055RL is grossing right at 14,000# ready to camp and my GMC does not even know its back there. None Of course yours is a Ford, so you would probably feel it a little.:D

Jim

Loco

Liz,