Front Cap Fading

I have a 2011 Big Country, the top of the cap is fading from bright Gray to a dull light Gray. is this a problem with the gell coat in the fiberglass???

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders
Re: Frount Cap Fading

Wow...that's scary! Have you treated it with anything? So far ours is fine and it is stored outside.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator

If there is one major factor in the gel coat fading, it would be the excess AZ sunshine/UV. It's harsh out there. One winter in Indio really took the shine from our Bighorn. I even had a guy in the park use an orbital buffer to try to remove the oxidation and restore the finish but it's not as good as it was before. I tried using some Meguires Ultimate Compound before the Rally in Goshen this year and made a good improvement but it think it's in need of a pro. Possibly a 600 to 800 wet sand and a fresh clear coat might help.

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders

Ray, I have no first-hand experience with this product (Poliglow) but many people swear by it for aging gel-coats.

HappyKayakers

Would this work also as a preventative or moreso just to restore?

I applied Poli-Glow to front and rear caps this past January. Both still look fine. To do it properly, you first have to use their special cleaning method which takes off any remaining finish. Then apply 5-8 coats of Poli-Glow, in small sections. The coats go on quickly with about 60 sec dry time between coats. Afterwards, I believe you can touch up with extra coats when you notice fading, without stripping down finish again.

tsue