Pin Weight Wonders

Tomcat

This is my first time on the Landmark forum. We are trying to figure out the best option for our future selection of a 5th wheel to live in full time. We have checked out the luxery line of Heartland and from what we have seen, heard and read I don't believe there is a better choice. We would like to get the Landmark Rushmore but I am confused by the forum discussions on one ton trucks as the tow vehicle. We have an older 2000 F350 SRW Powerstroke. Low miles and runs great. My towing expierence is a Gooseneck horse trailer with dual axle. No 5th wheel expierence. This is nowhere close to the length, weight or pin weight of the LMR. What does "1 Ton truck" indicate if not the loaded axle weight? Even a dually does not have the capacity for a pin weight approaching 1 -1/2 ton. How does this work for upgrades to the suspension, braking, etc.? Would we better off with a shorter trailer like the BH TI 32? The pin weight is only a couple of hundred pounds different from the the LMR that is 6 feet longer so I'm not sure if this is the best compromise. Thanks for any help you can offer.
Tomcat

jimtoo

Hi Tomcat,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully the Family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge if needed.

I'm sure some of our other family members will jump in soon and help out with more information.

Meanwhile enjoy the forum.

Jim M

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member