Hot Water Heater

The Atwood water heater on the 3300SK goes boom. After numerous firing attempts (while on gas) the water heater ignites and boy howdy does it ignite. Do I need to modify the heater cover to increase the airflow like I've seen, or is there some other adjustment I can do so that she lights first time every time? There used to be an air mixture adjustment on the old Atwoods, but I don't see it on this one. Thanks again for all the input
Greg

tdharley

I had the same problem in mine. I adjusted the electrodes ( the part that makes the spark). The insulator can also be cracked.

I would not suggest you do this unless you know what you are doing, I was an oil burner mechanic for many years. Let ther dealer do it.

Pulltab

The Atwood on our fleetwood did the same thing. This Bighorn has a Suburban and although it lights good it doesn't heat for crap. It is a 12 gallon tank and we run out of water just doing the dishes! Didn't matter much to me because I had installed a demand heater in the Fleetwood and took it out to install in the Bighorn. I did that this last week and all is fine now. Quiet, uses less gas and you never run out of hot water.

HappyKayakers

Pulltab,
That sounds rather odd. We also have the 12 gal tank and can take 2 showers (not navy showers) without any problem. That's assuming we start off with a hot tank and only use electric to supply additional hot water. We typically only use the gas for quick heating.

jbeletti

Pulltab,

As with HK, we get pretty good service out of our 12 gallon unit. Sounds like you are getting a hot/cold mix somewhere along the line or the heater is set too low (guessing).

But you know I like the thought of the tankless :)

Jim

Pulltab

Yeah we were really surprised that it didn't heat much, so I thought well it's not a 12 its a 6 but when I drained it, it was definetly a 12 gal. Could have been the heat setting but it didn't really matter as I was going to change it out anyway. :)

tdharley

Pulltab