Security of Carryout Satellite Antenna

57chevyconvt

Just purchased a new Wineguard Carryout Satellite Antenna at the recommendation of JayC at the Canton, TX rally. The question of how to secure the Antenna so that someone will not carry it away when we are not at RV has risen in our household. Any suggestions from those that use this type of Antenna?

hoefler

There is a ring welded to the base you can put a cable or chain through to secure to an unmovable object. I have been using one for 3 years now and have never had any issue yet, but time will tell. I have been more worried about a child on a bicycle, people walking in the dark, or a vehicle hitting it. Some times I have to get it close to the road or path to get a window in the trees. I carry drive way reflectors to help make it more visible, been lucky so far.

jayc

Texas-South Chapter Leaders
We've had ours over a year without a problem. Starting to see a lot more Carryouts in the parks that we've been in.

RoadJunkie

Jim, the base of the Wineguard unit is metal and there is a hole provided for mounting the antenna on the ladder mount. I have considered attaching a small (even 1/4") braided steel cable at this point to secure the unit to the rig. Attaching the cable would be at your own imagination. I don't think it takes much to deter a thief or vandal.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
We have ours on the ladder mount. Have not ever had the need to remove it yet. I dont think anyone could climb up the ladder without us knowing it. But I did install the bicycle cable to the ladder from the dome.

DougS

Doug S
I use the ladder mount. A small bicycle cable and a pad lock fit nicely in a channel in the ladder bracket. The yellow padlock and most of the cable can not be seen from the ground. I have only had to take it off the ladder mount once. Could it still be taken, sure, but they would have to make a lot of noise.

talley