Can I tow without Tow Package?

mtran868

I have a 2008 Toyota Highlander. It has no tow pkg. The Highlander with tow pkg can tow 5k lbs. I've been towing my rig (2011 MPG 3200 lbs loaded) since May 2011 without problems but haven't gone farther than 30 miles one way.

I've been thinking about adding a transmission cooler. Will this be sufficient? Or do I need to get a new vehicle? I want to go on longer trips but not sure how the Highlander will handle it.

bigTdrop

Definitely a good idea to add the trani cooler. They're not expensive and really do help the engine run cooler. I would think a Highlander would be very capable of towing an MPG, even without a tow package. You can usually get the tow rating by putting your VIN into a decoder, or checking Edmunds, Blue Book, etc. You might also want to consider an oil cooler for additional protection.

hoefler

Depending on manufacture, the tow package can contain many different things if not all of them. Tranny cooler, engine oil cooler, different radiator, different radiator fan, different programing for the engine and transmission, brakes, suspension, tires, gear ratio, hitch, wiring, etc.. just to name a few.

ptarthur2

I towed my MPG 183 with a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe for several months after first purchasing my camper. The vehicle didn't have a tow package but it did come with a 275 hp V6 engine and I added a load leveler trailer hitch, sway bar and trailer brake.