RV Loans

Texxags

What company has the best rate to go with? I'm only wanting to finance around 35k-40k, Any recommendations?

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders
I am far from a tax expert but I don't believe it has to be a Home Equity Loan in order to qualify for a deduction. Worth checking into regardless! HERE is a start. As far as lender rates go, try letting your RV dealer work for you. When we set up a purchase package, the dealer had three or four different lenders available we simply went with the lowest one!

Nabo

Southeast Region Director-Retired
I have our new coach with our local credit union at 1.74% for 36 months. That's pretty good.

GOTTOYS

Do it with a home equity loan then you can deduct the interest or claim it as a second home.[/QUOTE
The interest on any loan for an RV should be tax deductible. Doesn't have to be a Home Equity loan. I believe it's considered a second home if it has a kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Check with your taxman to be sure. Usual disclaimers apply, your actual mileage may vary...Credit Unions generally have very good rates. Don't fall for the old 15 year mortgage trap. It will take about 13 years before you have any equity in it. They depreciate pretty fast and if you ever need to bail out you sure don't want to be upside down on a loan...Don

DMitch

Another thing about dealers arrangeing financeing. They very often tack on a percentage for themselves and get a piece of the interest for themselves.

frumbawa

Came down to either Costco (Essex Bank?) or Bank of the West for us. Went with Bank of the West. I forget the rate off the top of my head but both were better than our credit union.

Texxags

texxags ,I hope that you are not a fulltimer yet.
Not sure what you mean by full timer. I'm buying this for my young family. We have a small travel trailer currently. We are upgrading so my kiddos can bring friends along. We can't wait as a family.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member